lifestyle

Planner Organization: College Edition

It’s never too late to start setting up a planner to make your life easier. Planner organization is incredibly important! With effective planner organization, I save time and make my life easier. It’s easy to get started and even easier to maintain with this system I use.

1487094062678-2

GETTING STARTED.

PICKING A PLANNER.

My planner works best for me and my organization method. You can find other planners like it for much cheaper at Target. I use this planner because I like the large size and simplistic design. If you’re looking for a new planner, you should consider both functionality and appearance. My planner works for me. You need a planner that works for you. Some things to take into consideration when shopping for a planner:

  • Hard cover (more durable) or soft cover (lightweight and flexible)?
  • Large (lots of space to write) or small (portable)?
  • School year (August – August) or calendar year (January – January)?
  • Weekly view (overview of the whole week) or daily view (more detailed planning for everyday)?

1487093979104-2

I really love my planner because it has both a monthly and daily view. It is small but very thick due to one page being dedicated to every day of the year. The cover is sturdy and water resistant. 

GET YOUR SUPPLIES.

When it comes to supplies, I like having a variety of colored pens, highlighters, and post-its to color code my tasks. 

  • PaperMate InkJoy Ballpoint Pens – I really enjoy these pens! The ballpoint tip makes writing glide so smoothly across the paper. I assign certain colors for birthdays, family events, friends/social events, school, appointments, and to-do’s. This makes it easy to distinguish the different aspects of my life very easily. I will further highlight school events, due dates, exam dates, etc. with different colors to distinguish between my classes.  The level of coding that goes into my system of organization is hard to remember at times so sometimes I will have a key on the side of the monthly calendar to help me. 
  • Post-It Flags – These also correspond in color to my classes. I use these for assignments and exams that are subject to change. This makes it easy to move dates around when they change. 
  • Post-It Notes – The classic square post-its are useful when writing reminder, tasks, or assignments to be done throughout the week. I move the sticky notes from day to day on the daily view pages of my planner. This prevents me from flipping back and forth to a certain dates, which can be tedious and creates a higher window for me to forget something. 

 

COMMIT TO FILLING OUT YOUR PLANNER. 

Your planner isn’t going to fill itself out. This isn’t something to throw together, especially if you want it to work for you. It’s fun to organize and see your life laid out for you, but it takes time. However, once you have it set up, it will make your life organized and less stressful.

1487093865213-2

A planner can be your best friend when you feel overwhelmed by your work schedule, college assignments, family gatherings, friend dates, appointments, and whatever else life is throwing at you. I highly recommend using my organization tips to make your planner easily readable. Look at different methods and find one that works for you! An organized life is a happy life!

What kind of planner do you have? How do you organize your planner? Leave your comments down below!

youreinvitedto-a-copy

2 thoughts on “Planner Organization: College Edition”

  1. This is so aesthetically pleasing! Do you find that you actually stick to using your planner? I use mine for a few days and then give up, and then start again, and give up again. I need to stick to it!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! I appreciate that! I understand how you feel, I used to do the same thing. What got me to stick to using mine was purchasing one I really liked with a layout that worked for me! I absolutely love my Erin Condren planner! Last year I used the DayDesigner planner from Target. Maybe if you find one that clicks with you, you’ll be more inclined to use it like I was.
      Off topic: I would love to check out your blog but your link doesn’t take me there. Is your link broken?

      Like

Leave a Reply

