lifestyle

5 Healthy Habits for College Students

One of my goals in the new year is to take better care of myself in all aspects of my life. As a full-time college student, it is super easy to spend so much your time and energy on school that your health falls to the wayside. I’m guilty of that! Today, I’m sharing several healthy habits I’m striving to implement daily. I encourage you to think about what you can begin to carry out in your everyday routine.

1. STAY HYDRATED.

This is the easiest habit you can get started on immediately. Drinking plenty of water has tons of benefits like reducing headaches, improving your skin and keeping you energized. One of my latest goals is to drink at least 3 twenty-ounce bottles of water each day. I leave a glass of water at my bedside so every morning I chug it. This is a great way to wake yourself up! Purchasing a refillable water bottle helps me keep track of how much I’m drinking as the day goes on. I use the Ello Syndicate glass water bottle from Target. It is an awesome on-the-go option and refilling it at water fountains saves on disposable water bottles. Since I started doing this, I noticed increased stamina and ability to focus. It’s amazing what a little water can do!

2. EAT HEALTHY.

I’m sure you’ve heard this one countless times! Healthy eating is a huge craze right now. Gluten free, soy free, non GMO, vegan, vegetarian, pescatarian, macros, there are so many diets out there, it’s hard to keep up with them all! Another goal this year is to be more conscious of the foods I’m putting in my body. I’m actually trying to gain weigh so my diet won’t be constricted per say. Eating more energy-dense foods that are high-carb and high-fat (the healthy kind f course). My go-to meal prep obsession for school lately has been Italian pasta salad. It is customizable to your personal diet and taste. I love throwing spinach and white mushrooms in mine! It is very convenient because pasta salad can be eaten cold and fills me up on those long school days. Much like staying hydrated, eating healthy has many benefits like reducing stress, increasing productivity, and a prolonged life span.

3. ESTABLISH AN EXERCISE ROUTINE.

This one is a tough one for me due to the fact I’ve never worked out a day in my life. I don’t believe you have to do these super intense workouts at the gym to be healthy. There are various types of exercise that don’t require heavy lifting or cardio. Yoga is amazing for you as a whole: mind, body, and soul. It strengthens your core, pushes your flexibility, while relaxing the mind and calming your inner self. I’ve started waking up earlier in the mornings to do quick 5-10 minute Yoga with Adrienne videos. It is a refreshing way to wake up your body and start your day!

4. GET QUALITY SLEEP.

If there is anything I’ve learned in my college experience is that sleep should be first on your priority list. Not does lack of sleep make you cranky, but paired with an extreme amount of stress can lead to psychological issues. Yes, some schedules are more hectic than others but prioritizing your tasks and to-do’s in order to get to bed by a certain time is very important to consider when planning out your day. I have learned to give myself a strict bedtime during the week to ensure I get in some quality z’s.

5. INVEST IN EDUCATION.

This is a fun habit to keep! I firmly believe that you should never stop learning. Education is not limited to the traditional school setting. Crave to learn more about things that interest you, spark your curiosity, something foreign, whatever it may be. Outside my college coursework I currently enjoy reading self-motivation books and learning how to cook. The world holds endless mysteries. Go out there and expand your knowledge on something that makes you happy.

These are only a few examples of things you can do to stay on your A-game as a college student. What healthy habits do you like to keep? What new habits are you going to implement this year? Let me know in the comments below!

youreinvitedto-a-copy

Leave a Reply

